City Government

Salida is a statutory city that follows the mayor-council form of government. The Mayor, Treasurer and Council members are directly elected. There are three wards in the City of Salida and two council members represent each ward, serving staggered four-year terms.

The City Council and the Mayor work together to create policy direction implemented through ordinances that become local law for the City. Ordinances are codified in the Salida Municipal Code.

The Mayor is elected to a two-year term and is subject to term limits. According to Colorado statutes, officials elected to two-year terms are eligible for three terms. Council members and Treasurer are elected to four-year terms and are subject to two terms.

Council meetings are held at the Council Chambers, located in the Touber Building. Council work sessions are held on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of the month; regular meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month. Both work sessions and regular meetings start at 6pm.  Please use the “C Street” entrance to the building to attend the meetings. You may also view the most recent meeting on cable television channel 10.

The current Channel 10 airing schedule is as follows:

  • City Council Work Session: Monday through Friday at 8 a.m.
  • City Council Meeting: Monday through Friday at Noon and 8 p.m.
  • Planning Commission: Monday through Friday at 4 p.m.